Fort Duncan

Back to Apacheria Forts
830-773-1714 or 773-2748

Fort Duncan, located on the east side of the Rio Grande, just above Eagle Pass, was established on March 27, 1849, by Captain Sidney Burank, and occupied by three companies of the First U.S. Infantry Regiment. During the Civil War the post was occupied by Confederate troops of the Frontier Regiment. Federal troops reoccupied the post in 1868. It remained under military authority until 1916. Its primary purpose was to protect the trade crossing into Mexico and travelers along the road to El Paso. It was taken over by the city in 1935, and today many restored stone buildings form the center of a municipal park and country club. The old headquarters serves as a museum.

Communities and Related Links
Eagle Pass Community
Fort Duncan Web Site
San Antonio Convention and Visitors Bureau
San Antonio
Del Rio

Home | Table of Contents | Forts | Road Trip Maps | Blood Trail Maps | Links | PX and Library | Contact Us | Mail Bag | Search | Intro | Upcoming Events | Reader's Road Trips

Fort Tour Systems, Inc.
817.377.3678
Email: rick@forttours.com