Site of Camp Verde
Marker Title: Site of Camp Verde
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: From Kerrville take SH 173 South approximately 13 miles to Camp Verde. Marker is on farm road .5 miles west of Camp Verde Store.
Marker Text: Established as a frontier post by the United States Army, July 8, 1855; headquarters in 1856 for 40 camels, sent by Secretary of War Jefferson Davis, to be used in a system of overland communication with the west, which proved impracticable. Surrendered to the Confederate government in 1861; reoccupied in 1865 by the United States Army; abandoned April 1, 1869.
Camp Verde General Store and Post Office
Marker Title: Camp Verde General Store and Post Office
Year Marker Erected: 1971
Marker Location: From Kerrville, take SH 173 south approximately 13 miles to Camp Verde. Store is located near intersection with FM 480.
Marker Text: Mercantile business operated 1857 as Williams Community Store, serving trade around Camp Verde Army Post (site of U.S. War Department's 1857-69 camel experiment). Post office opened in 1887. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1971
Camp Verde, C.S.A.
Marker Title: Camp Verde, C.S.A.
Year Marker Erected: 1963
Marker Location: Courthouse grounds, southwest corner Sidney Baker and main streets, Kerrville
Marker Text: Texas frontier regiment outpost was established 1862, southeast and near old U.S. Post Camp Verde. Part of Red River-Rio Grande line of posts a day's horseback ride apart. The troops furnished own guns, mounts, but often lacked food, clothing, supplies. Still, scouting parties, patrols effectively curbed Indian raids until war's end. Kerr County population was 585. County voted 76-57 for secession 1861. 75 men served in Confederate and state forces. Some sent to protect Texas Coast from Union invasion, some helped to defend frontier in this region, others fought on distant battlefields. 19 men from county served in Texas Union forces. Old U.S. Post Camp Verde was taken by C.S.A. troops Feb. 1861. The Confederates captured 80 camels and two Egyptian drivers with other U.S. property. These camels were used to haul cotton - life's blood of South - to Mexico swap for vital supplies, including salt from lakes north of Brownsville. During post dances ladies rode a camel "Old Major" around the parade grounds. 600 Union soldiers captured leaving Texas early in Civil War were confined in prison canyon southwest of the camp. 3 cliffs, described as "very difficult to ascend" surrounded the prison area. Prisoners, held from Aug. 1861 until sometime in 1862, were allowed to build shacks and get adequate exercise with little risk of escape. One Union prisoner performed as ventriloquist at post dance, scaring ladies with unseen pig sounds. Erected by the State of Texas 1963.