Search

Fort Esperanza

Michael has a BA in History & American Studies and an MSc in American History from the University of Edinburgh. He comes from a proud military family and has spent most of his career as an educator in the Middle East and Asia. Please consider reading our editorial policy to understand how and why we publish the resources we do.

Don't forget to like and follow our brand new Facebook page for access to updates and news before anyone else.

Part of our in-depth series exploring the forts of Apacheria

This fort was a Civil War earthwork fortification on the east shore of Matagorda Island constructed to guard Cavallo Pass, the entry to Matagorda Bay. It was built in 1861 when it was determined that Fort Washington, a small fort near the lighthouse on Matagorda Island was too exposed. On November 29th, 1863, the Confederates, outnumbered and outflanked, evacuated the fort and it was occupied and repaired by Union forces and they used it as a base of operations for other campaigns in the area. In the spring of 1864, Union troops withdrew from Matagorda Bay and the fort was then reoccupied by the Confederates and held until the end of the war. Eastern walls of the fort were destroyed as the shoreline was eroded by a storm in 1868. By 1878, the rest of the 9-foot-high, 20-foot-thick, turf-covered walls had eroded away. Outlying emplacements and rifle pits can still be traced in some areas. Nothing else remains.

"Texas became increasingly important toward the end of the war because it was one of the last holdouts and one of the last conduits of cotton - much of it moving through Mexico," says Texas historian Doty Freeman Smith. "The Federals' interest in cutting off that trade remained high throughout the war. That's why we had blockades of the Texas coast until early 1865."

For complete description see: Texas Parks and Wildlife Web Site
Communities and Related Links
Matagorda
Freeport
Join the discussion

Recent Comments