These Louisiana Markers are Grouped According to Parish
Back to Southern Early Amer. Hist. Mkrs
Caddo | Claiborne | Desoto | Lincoln | Natchitoches | Sabine | Webster
Caddo Agency House
On bluff, south of this road, is the site of Caddo Agency House where Caddo Indians ceded about 1,000,000 acres to the U.S. for $80,000 on July 1, 1835. by this treaty, Indians also gave to Larkin Edwards, interpreter and friend, a tract of land that later became the site of Shreveport.
Located in Shreveport, District 4, Caddo Parish.
Trading Post established before July 1, 1832 by James Cane and William Bennett. Residence of Gen. Kirby Smith, Cmdr. Trans-Miss. Dept., CSA last Confederate Army to surrender in 1865.
Located in Shreveport, LA, Dist. 4, Hwy 80, Caddo Parish. Caddo Parish.
Formerly Fort Turnbull, built by the Confederates to defend Shreveport, then Capital of Louisiana. In 1864, charred logs simulating cannon were used to deter Union forces from attacking.
Located in Shreveport, LA, District 4, Caddo Parish.
The Great Raft
Captain Henry Miller Shreve came to the Red River in 1833 to remove the log jam 165 miles long, extending from Loggy Bayou to Hurricane Bluffs; the removal of the raft by 1837 opened the Red River to navigation and made Shreveport an important center of trade and gateway to the West.
Located in Shreveport, District 4, River Park, Caddo Parish.
Claiborne Parish Court House
Built in 1860, this antebellum building was point of departure for Confederate troops during the War Between the States. It is one of the finest examples of Southern expression of Greek architectural style.
Located in Homer, LA, Dist. 4, Court House Square, Claiborne Parish.
Battle of Mansfield
Three miles east is site of the Battle of Mansfield, April 8, 1864, a decisive Confederate victory which led to the defeat of General Banks’ Red River campaign and Federal evacuation at Grand Encore.
Located in Mansfield, LA, Dist. 4, DeSoto Parish.
International Boundary Marker
Located 170 feet north of here is original granite block 10' x 9" which marked United States-Republic of Texas boundary. Dated 1840. Set on April 23, 1841. Only international boundary marker known to exist within continental U.S.
Located on LA 764/Texas 31 near Logansport, District 58, DeSoto Parish.
Pierre Boitt Lafitte
Grave of Pierre Boitt Lafitte, son of pirate Pierre Lafitte, hero in defense of New Orleans against British in 1815. He owned an 11, acre grant. A community, lake and river were named for him.
Located in Carmel, LA, Dist. 4, Hwy 90, DeSoto Parish.
Vienna Wire Road
First called Colvin’s Post Office in 1838, Vienna was incorporated in 1848. It was an overnight stop on the Trenton-Shreveport Stage Road, later called the Wire Road when the telegraph line was strung along it.
Located in Vienna, District 5, Lincoln Parish.
City of Natchitoches
Founded by St. Denis, 1714; the oldest permanent settlement in Louisiana and the entire Louisiana Purchase territory west of the Mississippi. On this site, Fort St. Jean Baptiste was built about 1715.
Replaced by #316. Was located in Natchitoches, District 8, Hwy 1, Natchitoches Parish.
Colonial Gateway Corral
First sighted by St. Denis and Bienville in 1700, this hill was later St. Denis’ vacherie. Here three paths met. From the Spanish west came cattle and horses; eastward were his home and the route of flatboats to New Orleans. A road wound north to the Fort.
Located in Natchitoches, District 8, Hill on Northwestern State College, Natchitoches Parish.
Drake’s Salt Works
First noted by Bienville in 1700, this site is one of the oldest wells in Louisiana. First used by the Indians, it provided a major supply of salt for Confederate forces during the War Between the States.
Located in Goldonna, LA, Dist. 8, Hwy 156, Natchitoches Parish.
Fort Claiborne, Site of
Fort established here in 1804. Named after William C. C. Claiborne, then Governor of territorial Louisiana. Protected U.S. interests on southwestern frontier. Garrisoned almost continuously until establishment of Fort Jesup in 1822.
Located in Natchitoches, Second Street, District 8, Natchitoches Parish.
Fort Selden, Site of
About 2 miles Northwest. Occupied 1816-17 and 1819-22. Purpose was to police southwestern frontier and guard Red River and Bayou Pierre. General Edmund P. Gaines, commander of the Western Department, had his headquarters here for a time.
Located north of Natchitoches on Hwy 6 near Grand Encore Bridge, District 8, Natchitoches Parish.
Fort St. Jean Baptiste
Built about 1715 by request of Saint Denis to halt the Spanish expansion eastward. Natchitoches Indians, allies of the French, gave their name to the city.
Located in Natchitoches, LA, Dist. 8, Hwy 1, Natchitoches Parish.
Francois Rouquier Homesite
At this location stood the home of Francois Rouquier, early Natchitoches Indian trader and farmer. The house foundations, dating circa 1780 were uncovered during archaeological excavations undertaken in 1975.
Located west side of LA 1 bypass, on rise adjacent to NSU Recreation Complex, Natchitoches, District 8, Natchitoches Parish.
Grave of Unknown Confederate Soldier
Here lies an unknown Confederate, killed by Union troops, April 2, 1864, during the Red River Campaign. This soldier had been cut off from his unit following a skirmish at nearby Crump’s Hill. He was shot at this site while attempting to rejoin other Confederate troops.
Located neat Marthaville, District 8, Natchitoches Parish.
Henri de Tonti
On February 17, 1690, Henri de Tonti, a trader and French army officer known as the Iron Hand, arrived in this area to search for LaSalle’s lost colony. While here, he helped arrange a treaty between the Taensa and Natchitoches Indians.
Located in Natchitoches, District 8, Natchitoches Parish.
On this hill Spain erected a fort that served as Capital of the Province of Texas from 1721 to 1773. The only Spanish Mission in this area was erected on the opposite hill in 1717, soon after the French founded Natchitoches.
Located in Natchitoches, LA, Hwy 6, District 8, Natchitoches Parish Natchitoches Parish.
The Natchez Trace
Harrisonburgh Road - This historic road was a vital link between the Natchez Trace and the old Spanish Camino Real. Over it passed the founding and colonizing pioneers who paved the way for the settlement and development of Western Louisiana and Eastern Texas.
Located in Clarence, LA, Dist. 8, Hwy 71, Natchitoches Parish.
Oldest settlement in the Louisiana Purchase, 7 miles west. Steeped in romance and tradition, here you will find the true flavor of the Old South amid scenes of great beauty of Cane River.
Located in Clarence, LA, Hwy 71/84, District 8, Parish. Natchitoches Parish.
Sang Pour Sang Hill
Site of the defeat of the Natchez Indians in 1732 by French troops and their Indian allies, after the Natchez had attacked Fort St. Jean Baptiste de Natchitoches. Two and one-half miles south.
Located in Cloutierville, District 8, Hwy 1, Natchitoches Parish.
Early Spanish Missions
Catholic mission church built at Las Cabezas on Bayou Scie about 1795. Succeeded by Nuestra Senora de Guadalupe (Our Lady of Guadalupe). In 1858 referred to as St. Michael (San Miguel). Zwolle’s St. Joseph’s succeeds these.
Located one mile south of Zwolle, District 8, Sabine Parish.
Established in 1822 by General Zachary Taylor as the major American Fortification on the Southwestern frontier, and later became known as the Cradle of the Mexican War.
Located in Many, LA, District 8, Hwy 6, Sabine Parish.
Entrance to controversial Neutral Strip bounded by Sabine River West and Arroyo Hondo East. It was claimed by the United States after the Louisiana Purchase, 1803, and by Spain as the ancient boundary of Mexico.
Located near Many, LA, District 8, Hwy 6, Sabine Parish.
In memory of our pioneer settlers who built near here the first church, schoolhouse, seat of government, post office, and cemetery. Here the first white child born in this Minden area is buried.
Located near Minden, LA Highway 79, District 4, Webster Parish.
Join the discussion