Marker Title: The Bosque-Larios Expedition
City: La Pryor vicinity
Year Marker Erected: 1975
Marker Location: Roadside park 8-10 miles north of La Pryor on US
Marker Text: In the 16th century, northern Mexico was torn by strife
as the Indian inhabitants resisted Spanish efforts to enslave them.
A century later, wealthy humanitarian Antonio Balcarcel set out to
invoke justice and help missionaries Christianize the land. In the
spring of 1675, Balcarcel sent out an armed expedition under Fernando
Del Bosque to accompany Fray Juan de Larios on a mission north of
the Rio Grande. Also in the party was Fray Dionisio de San Buenaventura,
an army chaplain. Entering Texas at a site near present Eagle Pass,
the expedition marched almost to the present site of San Antonio.
Three days after entering Texas, when they were in camp of the Nueces,
about nine miles southwest of present Uvalde, they set up a portable
altar. The expeditionaries gathered with some 1,172 Indians to hear
Fray Larios chant the Mass. Later Fray Larios baptized 55 infants
and instructed the adult Indians so that they might be baptized at
a future time. The celebration at the Nueces on May 16, 1675, is known
as the earliest recorded occasion of a high (sung) Mass in Texas.
Missionary activity that began on that day eventually brought about
the founding of the Texas mission system. (1975)
Marker Title: Camp Nueces, C.S.A.
City: La Pryor vicinity
Year Marker Erected: 1965
Marker Location: Roadside park north of La Pryor (@ 8-10 miles) on
Marker Text: Founded April 1862 near this site, to guard vital traffic
as it crossed the Nueces on the San Antonio Eagle Pass Road. A post
of the Confederacy's frontier regiment, under Col. James M. Norris.
Its duty was to see that cotton got through to Mexico and munitions,
medicines and factory goods came north to supply the Confederacy.
One of the chain of posts a day's horseback ride apart, on line from
Red River to Rio Grande. Never able to relax, in constant danger of
Indian raids; short of food, horses and guns, Nueces (like other frontier
camps) had none of war's glory and more than its share of hardships.
Located in Zavala County, created in 1858 and named for Lorenzo de
Zavala. This is one of 10 counties to commemorate colonizers. Of the
254 counties, 42 have Indian, French or Spanish names. 12 honor Washington
and other American patriots. 96 were named for 1836-1846 heroes of
the Republic of Texas (including 15 who died in the Alamo). 23 have
names of other early statesmen. 11 honor U.S. leaders in the campaign
to annex Texas. 10 honor state jurists, ministers, educators, statesmen,
historians. 36 are named for leading men of the southern Confederacy.
14 have names from local geography. (1965)
Marker Title: Zavala County
City: Crystal City
Year Marker Erected: 1969
Marker Location: US 83 south to US 65 east (left) until you see Zavala
County courthouse highway sign, make a left (marker's on right).
Marker Text: Explored as early as 1691 by the expedition of Domingo
Teran de Los Rios, Spanish governor of Texas. The historic San Antonio
Road crossed this region from southwest to northeast and was used
by most of the Spanish explorers and travelers of the 18th century.
French-American explorer St. Denis used it in 1714, as did the Canary
Islanders, who made one of the first civil settlements in San Antonio,
in 1718. The county was created in 1858 from Uvalde and Maverick counties
and named for Texas patriot and statesman Lorenzo de Zavala. Not until
1884, however, did enough people reside here to permit it to be organized.
The first county seat was Bates City, later renamed Batesville. First
judge was J. M. Downs and commissioners were W. C. Mangum, E. P. Waller,
V. M. West and G. B. Kenney. Before 1884 was out, a school election
had been held in Palo Blanco, and a $7,500 contract had been let for
a courthouse and jail. When the county seat moved to Crystal City
(1928) courthouse and jail were built here. New courthouse erected
1969 at cost of $475,000 was commissioned by 1968-1969 county courts:
Irl Taylor, Judge; Cecil Davis, Jr.; F. D. Keller, Jr.; H. R. Reynolds;
E. B. Ross; Jesus Rodriguez; and Henry Volz, Jr., commissioners. (1969)