Hansford County Historical Markers

Texas Plains Trail Region

Map of Hansford County Historic Sites

Topics (click on a topic to jump to that section).
Site of Cator Buffalo Camp | Hansford County | Stationmaster's House Museum | Site of Old Zulu Stockade

Site of Cator Buffalo Camp

Marker Title: Site of Cator Buffalo Camp
City: Gruver vicinity
County: Hansford
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: from Gruver take SH 136, south about 9 miles to rest stop
Marker Text: Established by James H. and Bob Cator in the spring of 1872 while hunting buffalo in the fall of 1875. The camp became a trading post known as Zulu. 1936

Hansford County

Marker Title: Hansford County
City: Spearman
County: Hansford
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Text: Formed form Young and Bexas territories. Created, August 21, 1876. Organized, March 11, 1889. Named in honor of John M. Hansford; came to Texas in 1837. Member of the Texas Congress, Judge of the Seventh Judical District, 1840-1842. Died in 1844. Hansford, the county seat. (1965)

Stationmaster's House Museum

Museum Name: Stationmaster's House Museum
Mailing Address: 30 South Townsend
City: Spearman
Zip Code: 79081
Area Code: 806
Phone: 659-3008
County: Hansford
Types of Exhibits/Collections: Military, Photos, Historical, Local/Pioneer History

Site of Old Zulu Stockade

Marker Title: Site of Old Zulu Stockade
City: Morse vicinity
County: Hansford
Year Marker Erected: 1968
Marker Location: 4 mi. N of Morse on SH 136, then 1 mi. W on FM 520
Marker Text: In 1875, a large, two-room pole building furnished with staple groceries and ammunition became the first trading post in Texas above the Canadian River. The stockade, located in Indian-infested country, was fittingly named for the fierce Zulu tribe of Africa. It began as a buffalo camp which crack hunters Jim and Bob Cator (from England) had made the first permanent Panhandle residence at Christmas, 1873. In 1876 Zulu became a major depot on the Ft. Dodge-Ft. Bascom military road, and it eventually received a post office contract. It was finally abandoned, 1912. (1968)


Home | Table of Contents | Forts | Road Trip Maps | Blood Trail Maps | Links | PX and Library | Contact Us | Mail Bag | Search | Intro | Upcoming Events | Reader's Road Trips

Fort Tour Systems, Inc.
817.377.3678
Email: rick@forttours.com