Uncommemorated and Unmapped Sites
Marker Title: A Texas Ranger Camp
City: Frio Town
Year Marker Erected: 1965
Marker Location: 3 mi. SW of Frio town
Marker Text: Was maintained on this site from about December 1, 1876
to April 1, 1877 by Captain Neal Coldwell's company, the escort of
Major John B. Jones, commander of the Frontier Battalion.
Marker Title: Frio County
Address: Hwy. 81
Year Marker Erected: 1968
Marker Location: County courthouse lawn
Marker Text: (Created 1858, Organized 1871) Home of Pachal Indians
before Spaniards arrived in Mexico (1519). First area explorer was
Alonso de Leon, 1690, searching for Fort St. Louis founded by La Salle.
Upper Presidio Road--artery of travel from Saltillo, Mexico, to East
Texas--crossed Frio River and became a King's Highway , 1720. Frio
Town, first county seat, was located on the road, over which Santa
Anna marched to destroy defenders of the Alamo in 1836. County took
name from Frio (a Spanish word which means "cold") River.
The county seat moved to Pearsall, 1883. Jail, built 1884, is the
oldest building in town.
Museum Name: Frio Pioneer Jail Museum
Mailing Address: P.O. Box X
Street Address: 410 E Pecan
Zip Code: 78061
Area Code: 512
Marker Title: Moore Cemetery
Address: Hwy. 462
Year Marker Erected: 1970
Marker Location: Highway 462 at eastern limits, Moore
Marker Text: First public burial ground in community. Before its founding
people were buried in private plots, church cemeteries, or in public
graveyards outside this precinct. In 1896 Moses Veith deeded five
acres of land for use as a community cemetery. Interred here are pioneers
and men who fought in Indian battles, World Wars I and II, and other
major conflicts. Moore was named for early Texas R. B. "Mustang"
Moore, who lived on a small creek near here. In 1861 he was killed
by Comanches. The town was first named Moore Hollow. (1970)
Museum Name: Big Foot Wallace Museum
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 34
Street Address: FM 462 at FM 472
City: Big Foot
Zip Code: 78005
Area Code: 830
Marker Title: Brummett Cemetery
Year Marker Erected: 1974
Marker Location: Take Hwy. 472 west to Hwy. 173S - 1-2 mi., then left
onto Brummett Cemetery Road which leads directly to cemetery.
Marker Text: Between Old Laredo Road and Fort Ewell Road, in a locality
accessible to the pioneers, this cemetery was in use by 1860, as shown
by gravestone of Elijah Ross, aged two. The burial ground was deeded
to the public by Mrs. Kizzie Brummett and her son William Brummett
on Sept. 21, 1889. Interments have included John T. Brummett (1815-1881),
the husband and father to the donors; two Brummett daughters; noted
early Texan James Washington Winters (1817-1903), a veteran of the
Battle of San Jacinto; also many Winters descendants. There are now
(1974) about 275 graves.
Marker Title: William Alexander A. Wallace
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: On Highway 472, across from Bigfoot Museum, at intersection
of 472 and 462, Bigfoot.
Marker Text: Known as Big Foot Wallace--defender of Texas and Texans.
As soldier, ranger and mailrider, he protected the advancing frontier,
died January 7, 1899.