Fort Milam Blood Trail (7)
Marker Title: Fort Milam
Marker Location: From Marlin, take FM 712 about 4 mi.
SW to FM 2027, then Go south 2 mi. to local road. Take road east .7
mi. to Brazos River Falls.
Marker Text: Built at the capital of Robertson's Colony
named in 1834 Sarahville De Viesca in honor of his mother Sarah Robertson
and the Governor of Texas, Agustin DeViesca. Soon after its name was
changed to Milam, December 27, 1835, a ranging company built the fort
as a protection to the settlers against hostile Indians.
May 10th, 1837, a body of about two hundred Indians made a murder raid
through the Brazos settlements including the Post Oak Springs Massacre.
Ranger James Coryell and a few other men went down the road to Perry
Creek to cut a bee tree. They were sitting around eating honey when
about a dozen Caddo Indians attacked them. Coryell stood and received
his mortal wounds. His companions retreated to the fort as the Indians
began scalping him.
A regular army post near the site of present-day Marlin in Falls County,
Fort Chambers was established in May or June of 1840 on the east bank
of the Brazos River, two miles north of the present-day Highway 7 crossing.
Marker Title: Indian Battlefield
Year Marker Erected: 1963
Marker Location: From Marlin, Take SH 6 north about 6.5
Marker Text: At this site, near the pioneer home of George
Morgan, a battle took place, January 16, 1839, between settlers in this
region and Indians under Chief Jose Maria in which the colonists were
defeated. A treaty with these Indians made soon after brought comparative
peace to this region.
Daniel Parker Sr.
Abram Anglin, survivor of Parker's Fort Massacre
Marker Title: Fort Parker
Address: Of FM 1245, in Fort Parker Historical Park
Year Marker Erected: 1965
Marker Location: Fort Parker Historical Park, off SH 1245
on park rd. 35, N. of Groesbeck.
Marker Text: Built 1834 for protection from Indians. Named
for leaders who bought first Predestinarian Baptist church body to Texas:
Elder Daniel Parker; his father, Elder John; brothers Jas. W., Benjamin,
Silas, John. Also here were Kellogg, Frost, Nixon, Duty and Plummer
families on May 18, 1836, raiding Comanches killed Benjamin, John and
Silas Parker, Samuel and Robert Frost and others; captured Elizabeth
Kellogg, Rachel Plummer and son James, and Silas's children, John and
Cynthia Ann in captivity, Cynthia Ann married Chief Peta Nacona; her
son, Quanah, was last Comanche Chief. With her baby, Prairie Flower,
in 1860 she was captured by Texas Rangers. She, the baby and Quanah
are buried at Fort Sill.
Marker Title: Fort Parker Memorial Park
Address: Off FM 1245, in Fort Parker Historical Park.
Year Marker Erected: 1964
Marker Location: Off FM 1245, on Park Rd. 35, Fort Parker
Historical Park, N. of Groesbeck
Museum Name: Old Fort Parker State Historic Site
Mailing Address: Rt. 3 Box 746
Street Address: State Park Rd. 35
Zip Code: 76642
Area Code: 254