15-Deadman's Hill | 15-Duncan, Fort | 15-Duncan Infantry Barracks, Fort | 15-Maverick County | 15-Rabb and Fort Duncan, C.S.A., Camp
15-Camp Rabb and Fort Duncan, C.S.A.
Marker Title: Camp Rabb and Fort Duncan, C.S.A.
Year Marker Erected: 1964
Marker Location: In front of Chamber of Commerce - Garrison St. near bridges to Mexico, Eagle Pass.
Marker Text: Camp Rabb, 15 miles northeast, was one of 18 Confederate outposts placed a day's horseback ride apart, from Red River to Rio Grande, to prevent Indian attacks and Federal invasion. Named for captain in Frontier Regiment, Texas Cavalry; guarded ford on the Cotton Road, used as major Southern supply line. Fort Duncan, at this site, a former U.S. outpost, protected Civil War trade of cotton for vital supplies and arms. Fort served the counter threat from Federals in upriver El Paso and the Davis Mountains. (1964)
Marker Title: Fort Duncan
City: Eagle Pass
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: 100 yards or 150 yards on Adams south of Intersection with Garrison Street, Ft. Duncan, Eagle Pass.
Marker Text: Established by Captain S. Burbank, first U.S. Infantry, March 27, 1849 as a protection to western communication. Garrisoned by Federal troops until March 20, 1861 and since 1868. Now known as Camp Eagle Pass. Erected by the State of Texas 1936.
15-Fort Duncan Infantry Barracks
Marker Title: Fort Duncan Infantry Barracks
City: Eagle Pass
Year Marker Erected: 1986
Marker Location: At end of Bliss Street, Ft. Duncan, Eagle Pass.
Marker Text: Built about 1868, soon after the US Army's post-Civil War reoccupation of Fort Duncan, this building played a part in aviation history when the first military cross-country flight, from Fort McIntosh in Laredo, landed here in 1911. By 1932 the Army abandoned the post. Six years later the city of Eagle Pass purchased it and leased the barracks to the local council of Boy Scouts. In 1939 the building became the Fort Duncan Country Club and remained as such except during World War II when it was also an officers club for the Eagle Pass Army Air Force Advanced Flying School. Texas Sesquicentennial 1836-1986.
Marker Title: Deadman's Hill
Marker Location: There is road construction along 57 that lasts at least 15 miles north from Eagle Pass.
Marker Text: A knoll by which the old Uvalde Road passed. Hill acquired name in 1877 when three traders from Guerrero, bound for San Antonio, were killed here by a party of Lipan Apaches. The victim's mutilated bodies were found hanging from the wheels of their carts. (1968)
Marker Title: Maverick County
City: Eagle Pass
Year Marker Erected: 1965
Marker Location: Courthouse grounds, Eagle Pass
Marker Text: Created Feb. 2, 1856, from Kinney County. Organized July 13, 1871. Named for Texas Revolution veteran, signer of declaration of Independence, Texas Legislator Samuel A. Maverick (1803-1870). The county centers in an area of dairies, farming, ranching. Hard-traveled El Camino Real (path into Texas History for Louis St. Denis, Spanish Missionaries, Moses Austin and countless troops and settlers) crossed the Rio Grande near Eagle Pass, the county seat. Site of Spanish Mission ruins, military posts. Fort Duncan, now a military park, housed both U.S. and Confederate troops. (1965)
Join the discussion