Search

Fort Washakie

Michael has a BA in History & American Studies and an MSc in American History from the University of Edinburgh. He comes from a proud military family and has spent most of his career as an educator in the Middle East and Asia. Please consider reading our editorial policy to understand how and why we publish the resources we do.

Don't forget to like and follow our brand new Facebook page for access to updates and news before anyone else.

Part of our in-depth series exploring Sioux Nation Forts

Wind River Indian Reservation
1869 - 1909

Picture of Fort Washakie Surgeon's Quarters

Built to protect the reservation created for the friendly Shoshonis in 1868. It also guarded nearby mining settlements. It was originally located in Lander, and was first known as Camp Auger, and then Camp Brown in 1870. The post was moved in 1871 to its present location. The fort was renamed in 1878 after Chief Washakie who was buried near here in 1900. Since 1909, the fort has been used as an Indian agency. A few of the military buildings remain.

Communities and Related Links
Fort Washakie Web Site
Wind River Country
Sublette County

 

Join the discussion

Recent Comments