Fort Oswego Park
Fort Oswego Park marks the site of the former Fort Oswego, a "stonehouse of strength" built by the British in 1727 to guard the Western shore of the mouth of the river. The fort, then called Fort Pepperrell, was the location of a major battle during the French and Indian War.
In 1756, Forts Ontario, Oswego, and George were garrisoned by a total of about 1,500 troops under the command of Colonel John Mercer. French forces, led by the Marquis de Montcalm; a brilliant military strategist, made their move against the Forts of Oswego in early August of 1756. Aided by a string of curious military decisions by the British, the French easily overtook the British forces and went on to capture and destroy all three of Oswego's forts.
The iron fence surrounding the monument was a portion of wrought iron fence formerly surrounding Lafayette Park in front of the White House, Washington, D.C. When removed from Washington, the greater part of the original fence was sent to Sackets Harbor and there erected around the post cemetery in 1889; the remainder now surrounds the Fort Oswego monument.