The history of Old Fort Niagara spans more than 300 years. During the colonial wars in North America a fort at the mouth of the Niagara River was vital, for it controlled access to the Great Lakes and the westward route to the heartland of the continent. With the completion of the Erie Canal in 1825, however, the strategic value of Fort Niagara diminished. It nonetheless remained an active military post well into the 20th century.
The three flags flown daily above the parade ground symbolize the nations which have held Fort Niagara. Each competed for the support of a fouth nation: the powerful Iroquois Confederacy. The French established the first post here, Fort Conti, in 1679. Its successor, For Denonville (1687-88) was equally short lived. In 1726 France finally erected a permanent fortification with the construction of the impressive "French Castle." Britain gained control of Fort Niagara in 1759, during the French & Indian War, after a nineteen-day seige. The British held the post throughout the American Revolution but were forced, by treaty, to yield it to the United States in 1796. Fort Niagara was recaptured by the British in 1813. It was ceded to the United States a second time in 1815 at the end of the War of 1812.
Sir William Johnson led the mixed British and Indian force that captured Fort Niagara in 1759. Photo from the book, Encyclopedia of American Indian Wars, by Jerry Keenan.
This was Fort Niagara's last armed conflict, and it thereafter served as a peaceful border post. The garrison expanded beyond the walls following the Civil War. Fort Niagara was a barracks and training station for American soldiers throughout both World Wars. The last army units were withdrawn in 1963. Today, the U.S. Coast Guard represents the only military presence on the site.
Old Fort Niagara was restored between 1926 and 1934. It is operated today by the Old Fort Niagara Association, Inc., a not-for-profit organization, in cooperation with the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. Admission fees, Museum Shop sales, grants and donations provide support for operation of the site. Membership in the Old Fort Niagara Association is open to all.
Children (6 to 12 years old): $10.00
Children (under 6 years old): FREE
July through December
Boat launch fee is $8, swimming pool fee is $3 for adults and $1.50 for children 6-12. Empire Pass cards cost $80 and offer unlimited day entries.
Special admission rates are available to groups of 12 or more persons. Advance reservations are not required, but additional benefits can be made available to groups who schedule a visit more than two weeks in advance. Please telephone Old Fort Niagara at 716.745.7611 for more information.
Open 9:00am daily, all year around. Closing is 5pm in all months except July and August, in which closing is at 7pm. The nature center is open in July and August from Thursday to Sunday (12pm to 5pm).
Closed January 1; U.S. Thanksgiving; December 25.
The last admission each day is one-half hour prior to closing time.
The Nature Center is open from Independence Day to Early September from Thursday to Sunday (12pm-5pm)
Swimming pool and slides are open from early July to the beginning of September (11:15am-6:30pm)
Soccer fields can be reserved April through October.