Part of our in-depth series exploring the Mountain Pacific Forts
Fort Crook Museum
Hwy. 299 & Ft. Crook Ave.
Fall River Mills, California
Established July 1, 1857 to protect travelers on the Shasta-Yreka Road and the Lockhart Ferries. Built by Co. A, 1st Dragoons under the command of Capt. John W.T. Gardner, the fort consisted of 25-30 log buildings enclosed by a pine-pole stockade 12 feet high. It was located on Fall River about 7 miles north of the museum grounds. Originally called Camp Hollenbush, the outpost was soon renamed in honor of Lt. George Crook, then in command of Co. D, 4th Infantry. Crook became a General during the Civil War and gained national fame as both a fighter of and advocate for the Plains Indians.
From Redding, California (where Fort Reading was the post replaced by Fort Crook), take State 299 about 70 miles northeast to Fall River Mills. Turn left (north) on Farm Road 1220 to Glenburn, 6 miles. At Glenburn post office, turn left (north) on road A19, follow it around 3.2 miles to marker next to fort site.
Join the discussion