Tom Green County
Historical Markers

Texas Forts Trail Region

Map of Tom Green County

Topics (click on a topic to jump to that section).
Enlisted Men's Barracks, #5 | Enlisted Men's Barracks, #6 | Ben Ficklin, Major | Fort Concho | Chapel and School House of Fort Concho | Administration Building of the Fort Concho | Officers Quarters No. 2 | Officers Quarters No. 4 | Officers Quarters No. 8 | Green, Tom, Confederate General | John R. ("Sarge") Nasworthy | Tenth Cavalry | Tom Green County
Uncommemorated and Unmapped Sites
Angling, Private

Enlisted Men's Barracks, #5

Marker Title: Enlisted Men's Barracks, #5
Address: Ave. C & Burgess, Fort Concho
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: Fort Concho, 2nd Building, West from corner of Burgess & Ave C
Marker Text: N/A

Enlisted Men's Barracks, #6

Marker Title: Enlisted Men's Barracks, #6
Address: Ave. C & Burgess St., Fort Concho
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: Corner of Ave C and Burgess St.
Marker Text: N/A

Major Ben Ficklin, C.S.A.

Marker Title: Major Ben Ficklin, C.S.A.
Address: US 306 & Ben Ficklin Rd.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1964
Marker Location: US 306 access rd. SW side., near where it crosses Ben Ficklin Rd.
Marker Text: (1827-1871) Called Mystery Man of the Confederacy. Educated at Virginia Military Institute. At age 18 served as a corporal in Mexican War. In 1850s worked with stagecoach and mail lines from Missouri to San Francisco. Helped to start the Pony Express Line in 1860. Promoted idea of the railroad that later was the Union Pacific-- the first to span the U.S. Was a soldier and state quartermaster in Virginia at start of Civil War. Appointed Confederate purchasing agent, his swagger and success in Europe excited Federal envy. Personally ran blockade and passed through New York and Washington on secret missions. In 1867 was awarded U.S. contract for weekly mail run from Fort Smith, Ark., to San Antonio and El Paso. Had his operational headquarters 3 miles below Fort Concho. Owned 640 acres of land here. Built corrals, blacksmith shop, storage rooms, adobe house, kitchen and commissary. On a visit to Washington, died of swallowing fish bone. Was buried in Charlottesville,Va. Associates carried on the mail stage runs, later named town near Fort Concho for the late Major. "Benficklin" was first county seat of Tom Green, serving until it was destroyed by flood in 1882. (1964)

Fort Concho

Marker Title: Fort Concho
Address: Oakes & D St.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1970
Marker Location: Oakes St. at corner of Oakes & Ave. D, San Angelo
Marker Text: The center of a line of forts extending from the northeastern border of Texas to El Paso. Was also northern point of southern chain of forts extending to Rio Grande, thence along that river to its mouth. Established 1867 (at then junction of Butterfield Trail, Goodnight Trail and road to San Antonio) by 4th Cavalry under Capt. George G. Huntt to protect frontier. By March 1, 1870, fort buildings were (in order of their construction) a commissary and quartermaster storehouse, hospital, five officers quarters, a magazine and two barracks-- all built of sandstone. Among those who commanded post were: Gen. Wm. R. Shafter (later major general of volunteers, Spanish-American War; commanded troops at capture of Santiago de Cuba, July 1898); Maj. John P. Hatch (at one time fort was named in his honor); Gen. Wesley Merritt (first commander of Fort Davis after Civil War; was later superintendent of U.S. Military Academy at West Point); Gen. Ranald Slidell Mackenzie (who led attacks, from this and other forts, credited with defeat of Indian resistance in southwest); and Gen. Benjamin H. Grierson, commander of Negro troops of 10th Cavalry. On June 20, 1889, fort was abandoned as a military post and property passed into private ownership. (1970)

Chapel and School House of Fort Concho

Marker Title: Chapel and School House of Fort Concho
Address: Ave. D and Burgess St.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: Located on southwest corner of intersection of E. Ave. D and Burgess Street. Fort Concho, San Angelo
Marker Text: N/A

Administration Building of the Fort Concho

Marker Title: Administration Building of the Fort Concho
Address: Fort Concho, between Ave. C & D
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: Fort Concho on Center Green, N. End, between Avenues C & D, San Angelo
Marker Text:--

Officers Quarters No. 2

Marker Title: Officers Quarters No. 2
Address: 115 East Ave. D.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: 115 East Avenue D, San Angelo 2nd building from West end of Officers Row.
Marker Text: N/A

Officers Quarters No. 4, Fort Concho, Texas

Marker Title: Officers Quarters No. 4, Fort Concho, Texas (missing)
Address: 201 East Ave. D
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: 201 East Avenue D
Marker Text: N/A

Officers Quarters No. 8, Fort Concho, Texas

Marker Title: Officers Quarters No. 8, Fort Concho, Texas.
Address: Fort Concho, Ave C.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: Bldg. on North one-half of Lot No. 8, Block 55, Ft. Concho Addition
Marker Text: N/A

Tom Green, Confederate General

Marker Title: Tom Green, Confederate General
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1963
Marker Location: 100 block of W. Beasregard
Marker Text: (Star and Wreath) Led 5th Texas Cavalry, Battle Val Verde in Arizona-New Mexico Campaign, 1861-1862. Commanded "cotton clad" carrying Cavalrymen dubbed "Horse Marines" in recapture Galvston, January 1863. Made brigadier general while leading Green's Cavalry division 1863 campaign to save Louisiana. Killed 1864 leading attack at Blair's Landing, Louisiana in Red River Campaign to prevent the Federal invasion of Texas. An ardent Texan, a brave leader, he constantly sought the heat of battle. A memorial to Texas who served the Confederacy. This county was named in honor of Tom Green, 1814-1864. Came to Texas from Tennessee, 1833. Veteran Battle of San Jacinto 1836 manning famed "Twin Sisters" cannons. Fayette County representative 4th Congress. Secretary of Senate, 6th and 8th congresses. Clerk of Supreme Court, 1841-1861. Participated frontier Indian campaigns. Member Somervell Expedition. Officer in Mexican War. Confederate general in the Civil War.

John R. ("Sarge") Nasworthy

Marker Title: John R. ("Sarge") Nasworthy
Address: Hillside Dr. and Knickerbocker Rd.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1970
Marker Location: Corner of Hillside Drive and Knickerbocker Road (FM 584) about 2 miles south of Intersection of SH 306 and Knickerbocker
Marker Text: Colorful pioneer and Texas Ranger who helped to create civilization and institutions of West Texas. Owned ranch land on which today is situated Lake Nasworthy -- first conservation lake in this area. Born in Georgia. Served 1864-1865 in Confederate army, during Civil War. Later came to Texas, living first at Bonham. After he moved west, he operated in Menard area as a buyer of beef cattle for United States army mess halls at Fort Concho. In 1880s he was deputy county clerk and deputy sheriff of Tom Green County and the first treasurer of the city of San Angelo. He owned the first local brick kiln, a wagon yard, a livery stable, and the only hearse in town in the early days. He was second man to fence land, second man to grow cotton in the county. A county commissioner, 1910-1916, he promoted building of the old Chadbourne viaduct. A leader in church and philanthropic endeavors, he was a promoter of the Baptist encampment at Christoval (then one of the largest religious gatherings in the south). He married Dena Von Fisher. The family had homes on Beauregard Street, Knickerbocker Road, Ben Ficklin Road and at Nasworthy Lake site. His six children carry on family tradition of community leadership.

Tenth Cavalry

Marker Title: The Tenth Cavalry
Address: Ave D & Oakes St.
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1987
Marker Location: Corner of Ave D & Oakes St. (on Oakes St.) Fort Concho National Historic Site
Marker Text: Following the Civil War, the United States Congress authorized the creation of six regiments of black U.S. Army troops. The Tenth Cavalry was organized in 1867 under the leadership of Col. Benjamin Grierson (1826-1911). The order creating black troops also specified that they would be commanded by white officers. Facing problems of racial discrimination at the regiment's headquarters in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, Grierson wanted the Tenth Cavalry reassigned to the West, and they arrived at Fort Concho in the Spring of 1875. The contributions of the men of the Tenth Cavalry to the settlement of the American West are of major importance. They took part in grueling scouting and mapping expeditions and campaigns against hostile Indians, often facing days without proper supplies or water on the high plains. They were instrumental in the defeat of the Mescalero Apache Indians led by Chief Victorio in 1880. The men of the Tenth Cavalry were stationed at Fort Concho until 1882, when they were moved to Fort Davis. Transferred frequently after 1885, members of the unit eventually served throughout the world, including Cuba, North Africa, Germany, Korea, and Vietnam. (1987)

Tom Green County

Marker Title: Original Tom Green County
Address: 100 block W. Beauregard
City: San Angelo
Year Marker Erected: 1972
Marker Location: Courthouse grounds, 100th block West Beauregard
Marker Text: On transcontinental trail of California Gold Rush. Until 1846 a part of Bexar land district, Republic of Texas. Private tracts were surveyed as early as 1847. German Emigration Company colony (90 miles southeast) had grants here, but in 1840s found Indians blocking settlement. Butterfield Overland Mail managers lived at stands in area, 1858-61. R.F. Tankersley family established a permanent home in 1864 in future Tom Green County. By 1874 there were five settlements here, including Bismarck farm, a colony of 15 German immigrants. The county (12,756 sq. mil., 10-1/2 times as large as state of Rhode Island) was created in 1874 and named for heroic Gen. Green (1814-64), a state official and gallant Texas soldier. After a decade of progress, the original Tom Green County began losing outlying areas. Midland County -- halfway between Fort Worth and El Paso on newly opened Texas and Pacific railway -- was created in 1885. Settlers remote from San Angelo petitioned for new counties in 1887, and the Texas Legislature created Crane, Loving, Upton, Ward and Winkler. Coke and Irion Counties were cut out of Tom Green in 1889. Ector and Sterling were created in 1891. Last diversions -- Glasscock (1893) and Reagan (1903) -- gave Tom Green its present size. It remains influential in the region.


Home | Table of Contents | Forts | Road Trip Maps | Blood Trail Maps | Links | PX and Library | Contact Us | Mail Bag | Search | Intro | Upcoming Events | Reader's Road Trips

Fort Tour Systems, Inc.
817.377.3678
Email: rick@forttours.com