Hardeman County Historical Markers

Texas Plains Trail Region

Map of Hardeman County Historic Sites

Topics (click on a topic to jump to that section).
Hardeman County | Hardeman County Courthouse | Hardeman County Historical Museum | Hardeman County Jail | McDonald, William Jesse | Medicine Mound Community | Medicine Mound Depot, 1910
Uncommemorated and Unmapped Sites
Earl Killed by Reservation Indians

Hardeman County

Marker Title: Hardeman County
City: Quanah
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: Quanah Garden Club Park, Highway 287, .5 miles inside western city limits, Quanah
Marker Text: Created February 1, 1858, recreated August 21, 1876. Organized December 30, 1884. Named in honor of Bailey Hardeman, 1785-1836, signer of the Texas Congress and Legislature. County seat, Margarette, 1884-1890; Quanah, since, in honor of Quahan Parker, a Comanche Chief.

Hardeman County Courthouse

Marker Title: Hardeman County Courthouse
Address: 300 block of Main St.
City: Quanah
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 2001
Marker Location: 300 block of Main St.
Marker Text: Hardeman County Courthouse Hardeman County was created in 1858 and named for early Texas legislators Bailey and Thomas Jones Hardeman. It was not organized, however, until 1884 when the population had increased enough to have a formal county government. The community of Margaret (now in Foard County) was selected as first county seat, but after the Fort Worth and Denver City Railway laid out the townsite of Quanah along its line, voters elected to move the county seat to Quanah in 1890. A 1906 bond election secured funds for the construction of a new building to replace the 1890 county courthouse. The Commissioners Court selected architect R.H. Stuckey of Chillicothe and Tom Lovell & Sons of Denton to design and construct the building, respectively. Stuckey used a domed cupola, stone lintels over the windows, and ionic columns flanking the entryways to execute his Neoclassical design for the courthouse. Built of glazed tan brick with a raised basement of Indiana limestone, it was completed in 1908. Since its construction, the Hardeman County Courthouse has served as the center of politics and government for county residents. The square is a focal point for local festivals and community events. An anchor in Quanah's downtown historic district, the 1908 courthouse continues as a significant part of the community's architectural heritage. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2001

Hardeman County Historical Museum

Museum Name: Hardeman County Historical Museum
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 677
City: Quanah
Zip Code: 79252
Street Address: 105 Green
Area Code: 817
Phone: 663-5272
County: Hardeman

Hardeman County Jail

Marker Title: Hardeman County Jail
City: Quanah
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 1977
Marker Location: Green Street - Quanah
Marker Text: This native stone jail building was begun in 1890, when Quanah become Hardeman County Seat, and competed in March 1891. The lower floor housed the sheriff's office and living quarters, while the second floor held prisoner's cells. Malon C. Owens served the longest term as county sheriff in this building, from 1936 to 1964. Jail facilities were relocated in 1973. This structure was renovated by community effort in 1976 for use as museum. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark-1977

William Jesse McDonald

Marker Title: William Jesse McDonald
City: Quanah
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 1970
Marker Location: Quanah Memorial Cemetery, Quanah, north city limits, Quanah, FM 2640
Marker Text: (1852-1918) Fearless frontier law officer. Known for crack marksmanship and lightning-fast disarming of foes. His long-time friend Governor James Hogg made him captain of Co. B, Frontier Battalion, in 1891. There he handled the "Murder Society of San Saba" and Wichita bank robbery. Conducted President Theodore Roosevelt on a wolf hunt in 1904. Was a U.S. marshal under President Woodrow Wilson. First wife was Rhoda Carter; second was Pearl Wilkerson. (1970)

Medicine Mound Community

Marker Title: Medicine Mound Community
City: Chillicothe
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 1999
Marker Location: 9 mi. S of chillicothe on FM 91
Marker Text: Early inhabitants of this area were Comanche and Kiowa Indians whose campsites were situated around four dolomite hills called Medicine Mounds and known for their healing properties. In 1854, area land was deeded to a railway company. Anglo settlers began to arrive in the 1870s. A small village developed but was moved 2.5 miles north in 1908 when the Kansas City, Mexico and Orient Railway was built. A townsite was platted that year and was fully established by 1911. At its peak, Medicine Mound boasted 22 businesses and a population of 500. Economic hardships, the Great Depression and a 1933 fire that burned the entire town were primary forces in the town's eventual demise. The last business closed in 1966. (1999)

Medicine Mound Depot, 1910

Marker Title: Medicine Mound Depot, 1910
City: Quanah
County: Hardeman
Year Marker Erected: 1964
Marker Location: Highway 287, Quanah at intersection of Highway 282 (SH 6) & Highway 297-Quanah
Marker Text: Built by Kansas City, Mexico & Orient Railway as passenger and freight station, in area where Chief Quanah Parker's Comanches prayed and rolled in gypsum, believing it was healing dust. Later, Santa Fe Station. Site of holdups and shooting. Has bullet holes, but escaped a 1935 fire that burned entire town. Retired from use, 1959; was moved via Highway 287 to its present site. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark, 1964


Home | Table of Contents | Forts | Road Trip Maps | Blood Trail Maps | Links | PX and Library | Contact Us | Mail Bag | Search | Intro | Upcoming Events | Reader's Road Trips

Fort Tour Systems, Inc.
817.377.3678
Email: rick@forttours.com