Part of our in-depth series exploring the forts of Comancheria
Fort Concho: San Angelo (Tom Green Co.)
In front of Fort Concho Museum
Points of Interest
Twenty-three original and restored fort structures (National Historic Landmark). Authentically refurbished exhibit buildings include a restored headquarters, soldiers barracks, officer's quarters, chapel/school, and post hospital. Exhibits tell the story of the fort, the Indian campaigns and of San Angelo. Open Tuesday–Saturday, 10–5, Sunday, 1–5. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. Call the Chamber of Commerce for the dates of Christmas at Fort Concho.
Four Living History Units: Fort Concho Infantry, Sixteenth Regiment, Co. F, (ca. 1880); Fort Concho Cavalry, Fourth Regiment, Co. D, (ca. 1872); Fort Concho Buffalo Soldiers, Tenth Regiment, Co. D., (ca. 1878), who also travel to perform in other communities.
Photo of the headquarters building that contains a military museum taken by Charles M. Robinson, III from the book, Frontier Forts of Texas.
Museum and bookstore
The center of a line of forts extending from the northeastern border of Texas to El Paso. Was also northern point of southern chain of forts extending to Rio Grande, thence along that river to its mouth. Established 1867 (at then junction of Butterfield Trail, Goodnight Trail and road to San Antonio) by 4th Cavalry under Capt. George G. Huntt to protect frontier.
By March 1, 1870, fort buildings were (in order of their construction) a commissary and quartermaster storehouse, hospital, five officers' quarters, a magazine and two barracks-all built of sandstone.
Photo from the book, Texas
Forts, by Wayne Lease.
Among those who commanded the post were: Gen. Wm. R. Shafter (later Major General of Volunteers, Spanish-American War and commanded troops at capture of Santiago de Cuba, July 1898); Maj. John P. Hatch (at one time fort was named in his honor); Gen. Wesley Merritt (first commander of Fort Davis after Civil War; was later superintendent of U.S. Military Academy at West Point); Gen. Ranald Slidell Mackenzie (who led attacks from this and other forts, credited with defeat of Indian resistance in Southwest); and Gen. Benjamin H. Grierson, commander of African troops of 10th Cavalry.
On June 20, 1889, fort was abandoned as a military post and property passed into private ownership.