Fort Totten served American Indian policy from 1867 to 1959. Constructed as a military post, it became an Indian boarding school, Indian health care facility, and a reservation school.
Initially, the fort policed the surrounding reservation. The soldiers enforced the peace, guarded overland transportation routes, and aided Dakota (Sioux) who lived near Devils Lake after 1867. Fort Totten was decommissioned in 1890.
On January 5th, 1891 the former post became the property of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The post served as an Indian boarding school until 1959. Academic and vocational training prepared Indian youth for life off the reservation. Enrollment sometimes topped 400. After independent tribal government was established, a community school operated in the buildings from 1940 to 1959.Visitors center and buildings open from May 16th through September 15th, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (CST). Adjacent parking, seventeen original buildings, interpretive center, Pioneer Daughters' Museum, modern facilities, limited ADA accessibility. There is an admission fee.
School Groups: $1.00 per student
Bus Tours: $40.00 per group
Open: May 16 - September 15, 8:00 A.M.--5:00 P.M. (September 16 - May 15, weekdays by appointment).
For more information please send inquiries to: Fort Totten State Historic Site, P.O. Box 224, Fort Totten ND 58335, telephone (701) 766-4441, or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
For information on lodging and events please visit Totten Trail Inn
and the State Historical Society's Program Schedule.