Fort Inglish Village, Bonham, TX 75418, 903-583-4811
Bonham, named after Alamo hero and messenger James Butler
Bonham, was founded by pioneer Bailey Inglish in March of 1837. The
settlement was first called Inglishs Station or Fort Inglish after
the blockhouse and stockade built for the protection of the early settlers.
Visitors to Fort Inglish, on W. Sam Rayburn Drive, see what life was
like for the early settlers. Surrounding the stockade are three restored
150-year-old log cabins that have been refurbished to represent a blacksmith
shop, a frontier cabin and a general store. A cedar log schoolhouse
has been recently added.
General E. Kirby Smith
Center for American History
In August, 1863, Generals Henry McCulloch and Edmund Kirby Smith utilize Quantrill's raiders. The following account is from the book, Frontier Defense in the Civil War, by David Paul Smith:
Communities and Related Links