Bernard's Trading Post No. 2
US 67, 8 mi. E of Glen Rose
The Torrey brothers of Connecticut and their childhood friend George Barnard, with President Sam Houston as a partner, contracted to build a series of trading posts along the Brazos River in 1843. Barnard's friendly manner made the Indians his friends, paving the way for more peaceful frontier settlement. In 1846, George ransomed a young girl, Juana Cavasos, from a group of Comanches at the post on Tehuacana Creek near Waco for $300. By 1847 she had married his brother Charles. In 1849, Charles and George established a post within this valley where Charles and Juana would live.
In view of Comanche Peak in modern-day Hood County, the second post
was four miles north of this site and near a Shawnee-Delaware village.
Trading goods from a bulletproof "dog-run" log house, the
brothers did an excellent business, and Juana's influence on the region
equaled theirs. Two Anglo communities sprang up in the area: George's
Creek and Fort Spunky. The government relocated the area's Indian population
to Oklahoma in 1859; the need for a trading post dwindled. 1860 found
Charles and Juana beginning a community on the Paluxy River, where he
built a large stone gristmill. The town that grew around the mill was
called Barnard's Mill, later renamed Glen Rose. (1998)