Marker Title: Carlton Cemetery
Year Marker Erected: 1998
Marker Location: FM 2823.
Marker Text: Carlton Cemetery is commemorative of the growth and decline
of a fading community as agriculture and railroads changed the destiny
of small Texas towns. Local lore places the first grave at this site
in 1867 when J.E. Pinkerton, a farmer, was killed by a band of Indians.
After hitting solid rock, area settlers moved 200 feet to the north,
where they established Pinkerton's grave with a 16-inch high solid native
stone bearing only his initials on a chiseled shield. The village of
Carlton was organized in 1876 and named for Dr. F.M. Carlton, who was
buried here in 1897. James Monroe McCarty rests in the first dated grave,
inscribed January 21, 1872. Of 1,278 graves counted in 1997, 213 are
unmarked. Of these, 22 anonymous graves date from the influenza epidemic
of 1918-1919. Also buried here is Deputy Sheriff Audie Gibson, killed
by bandits in 1932. Carlton natives have faithfully maintained the cemetery
in honor of their relatives, friends, and the many local veterans who
served their country. The Carlton Cemetery Association was formed in
1957. L. W. Fine, cemetery overseer, was the last person to be buried
by his neighbors in 1957. Burial services have since been assumed by
funeral homes. (1998)
Marker Title: Fairy Cemetery
Year Marker Erected: 1994
Marker Location: from Hico southern city limits take FM 1602 south 9.5
miles to Cemetery (on East side of road).
Marker Text: First called Gap for its geographic setting between two
hills, this sparsely settled community became known as Martin's Gap
in the 1860s after a man named Jim Martin reportedly was killed by Indians
while traveling through the area. When local citizens applied for a
United States Post Office in 1884, the name Fairy was chosen in honor
of Fairy Fort Phelps (1865-1938), the petite daughter of pioneer settlers
Battle and Sallie Fort. Fairy and her father taught area children in
a school in their home for many years, and the Fort family donated land
to several area churches. Although the earliest known burial occurred
here about 1880, deed records show that this graveyard was not officially
set aside as a community burial ground until 1890. Among those interred
here are numerous pioneer settlers, dozens of victims of the 1918 influenza
epidemic, at least one Texas Ranger, and veterans of the Civil War,
World War I, World War II, and the Korean War. Encompassing three sections,
the cemetery contains many distinctive handmade gravestones and other
types of grave markers. Maintained by a local association of descendants,
the cemetery is a reflection of the area's pioneer heritage. Recorded-1970
Marker Title: Frederick B. Gentry
Year Marker Erected: 1962
Marker Location: in Graves Gentry Cemetery at corner of Francis Mourion
Rd. and old Hwy 22 (7-8 blocks north of Courthouse Square) (marker is
in northwest corner of Graves-Gentry).
Marker Text: Texas War for Independence Soldier, 1836. Later commanded
a frontier Minuteman Company (sm) Erected by the State of Texas, 1962
Marker Title: Hamilton County
Year Marker Erected: 1936
Marker Location: from Hamilton, take US 281 north one mile (Marker is
on west side of 281 at city limits).
Marker Text: Created February 2, 1842 from Montgomery and Houston counties;
recreated January 22, 1858, organized August 2, 1858. Named in honor
of General James Hamilton, 1786-1857. Lawyer and Governor of South Carolina;
appointed diplomatic agent to Europe by President Lamar Hamilton; the
Marker Title: Hamilton County, C.S.A.
Year Marker Erected: 1965
Marker Location: from Hamilton city limits, take US 281 north 6.6 miles
to marker (in roadside park on east side of road).
Marker Text: Created and organized in 1858. By 1860 had 489 people in
78 families from 15 states. Vote in 1861 was 86-1 in favor of secession.
60 farmers were organized as Hamilton County Minutemen, a unit of part-time
soldiers. Others joined Confederate regiments and fought at Vicksburg,
Shiloh and other memorable battles. During the Civil War, travel was
on horseback and hauling by ox wagon. Homes were of logs split from
timber along creeks and rivers. About half an acre a day was farmed,
with homemade wooden tools. Corn and wheat were raised. On burned-over
ground each family grew its own tobacco, hanging the leaves inside the
living room to dry. Diet was mostly beef, cornbread and coffee substitutes.
Homes were lighted by wicks stuck into tallow-filled eggshells. With
few men on hand to brand and herd, feuds rose over thefts and straying
cattle. In differences over war issues, 2 men fled to Mexico to join
Federals. Later they returned, trying to recruit neighbors into a unit
disloyal to Texas, to welcome planned Federal invasion. Further trouble
came from many Confederate deserters who took refuge along the streams
and lived by theft and violence.
Marker Title: Martin's Gap
Year Marker Erected: 1964
Marker Location: from Hico southern city limits, take FM 1602 south
9.8 miles to marker (on west side of road in front of gazebo) in Fairy.
Marker Text: Mountain burial site for frontiersman Jim Martin, killed
here by Indians in 1860s, when county had fewer than 500 people. Gap
bore his name for 20 years. Settled in 1873 by Capt. Battle Fort, Confederate
veteran and lawyer. A post office established 1884 was named Fairy to
honor Mrs. Phelps, Fort's beloved young daughter.
Marker Title: Andrew Miller
Year Marker Erected: 1978
Marker Location: from Hamilton, take SH 36 west about 8.7 miles to CR;
follow signs to Gentry's Mill Cemetery; marker is in middle of cemetery.
Marker Text: (1823 - 1900) A frontier settler from Monroe County, Virginia.
Andrew Miller migrated to Texas while still a young man. In 1856 he
settled in Comanche County near the Hamilton County line. He married
Hannah Margaret Shockley in 1861. They had seven children. Miller served
with the 2nd Frontier Ranger group, defending nearby pioneer settlements
against Comanche Indian raids. A founder of the First Presbyterian Church
of Hamilton, Miller also donated land for Warren's Creek Church, a church
school, and cemetery at Gentry's Mill.
Marker Title: Twin Oaks
Address: 222 Baker St.
Year Marker Erected: 1967
Marker Location: (off US 281).
Marker Text: Between these trees, Wm. Willis took refuge on Dec. 24,
1866, but was shot fatally by Indians. He was riding a mule to a dance
when attacked. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark, 1967
Marker Title: Ann Whitney
Year Marker Erected: 1993
Marker Location: located at intersection of US 281 and Francis Marion
Rd. (about 7.8 blocks north of Courthouse Square).
Marker Text: Elizabeth (Ann) Whitney, a native of Missouri, accepted
a teaching position at a newly erected rural school located about seven
miles north of present day Hamilton in 1867. This school, called the
Leon River School, was situated on a rise overlooking the Warlene Valley.
On a hot summer afternoon in 1867 Ann and her students were suddenly
attacked by Comanche Indians. According to local tradition Ann was repeatedly
struck by arrows fired through cracks in the schoolhouse walls. Although
fatally injured she nevertheless bravely aided the escape of all but
one of her young students.
Marker Title: Ann Whitney
Marker Location: located in center of old Hamilton City Cemetery, just
off US 281 north 7-8 blocks from courthouse square.
Marker Text: (1839 - 1867) Described as a stout lady with an engaging
personality, Elizabeth (Ann) Whitney confirmed that she could be strong,
brave, and resourceful on one fateful July day in 1867. Ann was a teacher
at a nearby frontier school. Suddenly, during the course of a typical
school day, a party of Comanche Indians attacked. Reportedly pierced
by 18 arrows during the ordeal, Ann Whitney nevertheless helped all
but a young boy escape before dying herself.