Marker Title: Denny Cemetery
City: Bluff Dale vicinity
Year Marker Erected: 1983
Marker Location: 1 mile east of Bluff Dale on US 377.
Marker Text: Alfred W. Denny (d. 1877) came to Texas in 1853, settling
first in Clarksville, and then moving to Weatherford in 1860. During
the Civil War (1861-65) Denny served in a Ranger unit stationed at Stephenville
that guarded Texas' western frontier. In 1867 he bought 320 acres, which
included the site where he was later interred. There are 17 known gravesites
of family members in the Denny Cemetery, including Denny's wife Mary
Elizabeth and infant grandson Walter Calloway Baldwin, who was killed
by a horse in 1879. The burial ground was restored in 1982. (1983)
Marker Title: Doublin Inn
Year Marker Erected: 1971
Marker Location: SW end of Cottonwood St., old part (dirt road),facing
railroad tracks, Dublin.
Marker Text: Site of pioneer outcry: "Indians a-coming! Double
in!" Built by Alex Dobkins when his family and kin settled here
on fertile land bought (1846) by J.R. Holland, his father-in-law. House
was a stand on Fort Worth-to-Yuma stage line; also a fort until Indian
raids ceased, about 1870. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1971
Marker Title: Erath County Courthouse
Address: 100 Washington
Year Marker Erected: 1963
Marker Location: Corner of Washington and Graham.
Marker Text: Founded in 1854 and named for early settler and land donor
John M. Stephen, the town of Stephenville became county seat when Erath
County was created in 1856. The first county courthouse, a wood frame
structure built in 1856, was destroyed by fire in 1866. By 1890 Erath
County was experiencing an economic boom. The railroad had reached this
area in 1889, and local business increased as shipping opportunities
improved. County commissioners called for bids to design a new courthouse
in 1891. J. Riely Gordon submitted the winning design. The construction
contract was awarded to S.A. Tomlinson of Fort Worth. Gordon, who became
a nationally known architect, had designed two earlier buildings on
the town square (the First National Bank and the Crow Opera House).
He is well known for his Texas courthouse designs. A distinctive rendition
of the Romanesque Revival style, this courthouse, completed in 1892,
features striking use of locally-quarried limestone accented with Pecos
sandstone. A 1988 restoration project included the addition of an adjacent
courthouse annex. The central clock tower of the historic courthouse
has been the most prominent feature of the surrounding landscape for
more than a century. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1963
Marker Title: Thurber
Year Marker Erected: 1969
Marker Location: Smokestack Park area on northeast corner of I-20 and
FM 108, Thurber.
Marker Text: Most important mine site in Texas for 30 years. Coal here,
probably known to Indians, was "discovered" in 1886 by W.
W. Johnson, who with his brother Harvey sold out to Texas and Pacific
Coal Company in 1888. (T. and P. Coal Company provided fuel for the
Texas and Pacific Railroad, but was independently owned.) Town was named
for H.K. Thurber, friend of T. and P. Coal Company founders. Most dynamic
firm member was Robert D. Hunter (1833-1902), developer of 7 of 15 mines.
Next president was E.L. Marston, Hunter's son-in-law, who left mining
largely to William K. Gordon (1862-1949), an engineer who brought daily
output to 3,000 tons. Then in 1917, Gordon (backed by management of
coal company) was primarily responsible for discovery of Ranger oil
field, 20 miles west. Adoption of oil- burning railway locomotives cut
demand for coal. Last mine here closed in 1921, and the 10,000 or more
inhabitants of Thurber began to move away. The coal firm changed its
name to Texas Pacific Coal and Oil Company and was sold in 1963 to Joseph
E. Seagram and Sons, Inc., for $277,000,000.00. Renamed Texas Pacific
Oil Company, it is now one of largest independent domestic energy suppliers.
Much coal (by estimate 127,000,000 tons) remains underground. (1969)