Post Commissary

Those I've met who care for this history share a common love that borders reverance for the books about the era. Many locals, myself included, first caught the bug from John Graves', Goodbye to a River. The author says, "The stories are out there if you care to look for them." I took it on myself to make that search a little easier for the rest of you. McConnell's and Wilbarger's accounts both cover the bulk of the stories. I provide most of McConnell's in this site because his book is practically impossible to get your hands on whereas Wilbarger's is available below as are most of the rest of the books that I reference or partially include in this site. I would appreciate anyone interested in referenced books that are out of print to e-mail me. Where there is significant demand, I hope to provide new editions.

Here you will also find fictional books and movies that I believe enhance the understanding and the feel of that time. This is particularly true of McMurtry's Lonesome Dove and Comanche Moon; I can't imagine a better companion for a long drive through the Southern Plains than the audio book versions of these works.

But of course road trips need music too and in future versions of this site, as well as the CD-Rom, I'll play disc jockey. Road songs seem to work best and I'll be playing everything from Chuck Berry to Hank Snow though I have a preference for alternative Texas music, Blues and Rockabilly. You will find recommended music and artist's web sites at the bottom of this page. I can't resist plugging Terry Allen's Bloodlines. It is a very edgy and as far as I know, the only collection of music specifically about the white and red man's struggle for America.


Books


America, A Narr. History
  Bad Hand : A Biography of Gen. Ranald S. MacKenzie  
Battlefields of Texas
  Border Wars of Texas
             
cover
Captured by the Indians
   
Carbine & Lance, The Story of Old Fort Sill
  Catlin's Letters and Notes on the North American Indians   Charles Goodnight, Cowman and Plainsman
             

Comanche Moon
 

Comanches, The Destruction of a People
 

cover

Dead Man's Walk
  Fort Worth, A Frontier Triumph
             
The Frontier World of Fort Griffin  
Gamblers and Gangsters, Fort Worth's Jacksboro Highway
 

Goodbye To A River
   Great Comanche Raid
             

cover

The Great Plains
  Hell's Half Acre   Historic Ranches of Texas   The History of Jack County, Texas
             
Indian Depredations in Texas  

Interwoven : A Pioneer Chronicle

Published by Texas A & M Press 800-826-8911
  Life of 'Big Foot' Wallace  

Lone Star, History of Texas
             

cover

Lonesome Dove
 

cover

900 Miles on the Butterfield Trail
 

North American Indians
  Ranald S. MacKenzie on the Texas Frontier
             
Rangers and Pioneers of Texas   Report on the Indian Tribes of Texas in 1828  

cover

Roadside History of Texas
  Satanta : The Life and Death of a War Chief
             

cover

Sentinel of the Southern Plains
  Six Years With the Texas Rangers, 1875 to 1881  

cover

Story of Cynthia Ann Parker, Sunshine on the Prairie
 

cover

Streets of Laredo
             

cover

Tales of Old-Time Texas
  Texas Indian Fighters  

cover

Texas Rangers, A Century of Frontier Defense
  Through Unexplored Texas
             
Trail Drivers of Texas   Trails Through Archer  

Tribal Wars of the Southern Plains
  Why Stop? A Guide to Texas Historical Roadside Markers
             
Buffalo Hump and the Penateka Comanches  

cover

The Comanches: Lords of the Southern Plains
 

Comanche Dawn
 

cover

Kiowa, Apache and Comanche Military Societies
             
Los Comanches: The Horse People            
             

Movies

cover

Black Fox
 

cover

Comancheros
 

cover

Dead Man's Walk
 

cover

Lonesome Dove
             

cover

Red River
 

cover

Rio Bravo
 

Rio Grande
 

cover

The Searchers
             

cover

She Wore A Yellow Ribbon
 

cover

Sons of Katie Elder
 

cover

Stagecoach
  cover
Streets of Laredo
             
cover
The West (Box Set)
           
             

Music

cover
Terry Allen
Bloodlines
Lubbock (On Everything)
  cover
Chuck Berry
Chess Box
 
Joe Ely
Live at Antone's (Live)
  cover
Flatlanders
More a Legend Than a Band
             

Jimmy Dale Gillmore
One Endless Night
  cover
Butch Hancock
Own & Own
  cover
Emmy Lou Harris
Portraits
 
Buddy Holly
The Buddy Holly Collection
             
cover
John Lee Hooker
Mr. Lucky
 
Lightnin' Hopkins
Cadillac Man
  Davin James
Nowhere Lounge
  cover
Janis Joplin
Box of Pearls
             
cover
Robert Earl Keen
The Live Album
  cover
Freddie King
King of the Blues
  cover
Lyle Lovett
Step Inside This House
  cover
Delbert McClinton
Ultimate Collection
             
cover
James McMurtry
Too Long in the Wasteland
  cover
Willie Nelson
Revolutions of Time
  cover
Jimmy Reed
Classic Recordings
   
             
cover
Jimmie Rodgers
Songs of Jimmie Rodgers
  cover
Doug Sahm
Texas Tornadoes
  cover
Hank Snow
Essential Hank
  cover
Hank Thompson
Hank Thompson and His Brazos Valley Boys
             
cover
Ernest Tubb
Best of Ernest Tubb
Legendary Ernest Tubb and Friends
  cover
Ike Turner
Ultimate Collection
 
Townes Van Zandt
Flyin' Shoes
 
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Texas Flood/ Weather/ Soul to Soul
             
cover
Muddy Waters
Chess Box
  cover
Lucinda Williams
Car Wheels On A Gravel Road
  cover
Kelly Wellis
What I Deserve
 
Bob Willis
Anthology (1935-1973)
             
cover
ZZ Top
Fandango
           
             
             

Music Links

Rockabilly Hall of Fame www.rockabillyhall.com/RMF../index.html
Steve Fromholz www.stevefromholz.com
Davin James www.davinjames.com/web/link_page/Links.htm
Terry Allen www.terry-allen.com
Joe Ely www.ely.com
Robert Earl Keen www.robertearlkeen.com
Jimmie Dale Gilmore www.jimmiedalegilmore.com
Delbert McClinton www.delbert.com
Bob Moore www.nashvillesound.net
Willie Nelson www.willienelson.com
Stevie Ray Vaughan www.sonymusic.com/artists/StevieRayVaughan/
Doug Sahm members.aol.com/sirdoug/../index.html
Townes Van Zandt www.acousticmusic.com/fame/p00547.htm
ZZ Top www.zztop.com
Bob Wills home.sprynet.com/~jayschne/Music.htm
Ernest Tubb
customer.wcta.net/wmcclure
Texas Blues Music
www.texasbluesmusic.com/Welcome%20Page.html
Muddy Waters www.muddywaters.com
Janis Joplin www.janisjoplin.com
Hank Snow www.hanksnow.com
Jimmie Rodgers www.jimmierodgers.com
Chuck Berry www.cmgww.com/music/berry/../index.html
Ike Turner www.iketurner.com
Hank Thompson infocs.com/hank/
Lucinda Williams www.lucindawilliams.net
Emmy Lou Harris www.emmylouharris.com
Kelly Willis www.kellywillis.com
Buddy Holly www.cmgww.com/music/holly/holly.html
Lyle Lovett www.geocities.com/SoHo/1192/lyle.html
Butch Hancock www.angelfire.com/mi/jeffmiller/


Home | Search | Maps | Commissary | Battles/Massacres

Contact Us | Join Our Mailing List | Sign Our Guestbook